Mia Hamm, Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach named to all-time U.S. soccer team

Former World Cup and Olympic champion Mia Hamm plus current players Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach and Christie Rampone were selected to the national women's team all-time best XI on Thursday, part of U.S. Soccer's commemoration of its centennial.

Left off the team was current goalkeeper Hope Solo, who was outpolled by Briana Scurry, the woman Solo succeeded on the national team in 2008.

A committee of 56 former soccer players and administrators, as well as media members, voted for the team.

Also making the cut was Brandi Chastain, whose game-winning penalty kick in the 1999 World Cup final at the Rose Bowl became an iconic moment in U.S. soccer history, and Kristine Lilly, whose 352 international caps is the most by any player, male or female.

The team (with years played):

Goalkeeper: Briana Scurry 1994-2008. 

Defenders: Brandi Chastain 1988-2004; Joy Biefeld (Fawcett) 1987-2004; Carla Werden (Overbeck) 1988-2000; Christie Rampone (Pearce) 1997-present (46).

Midfielders: Michelle Akers 1985-2000; Julie Foudy 1988-2004; Kristine Lilly 1987-2010.

Forwards: Mia Hamm 1987-2004; Alex Morgan 2010-present; Abby Wambach 2001-present.


U.S. Olympic delegation draws widespread reaction

Dennis Rodman defends his latest visit to North Korea

U.S. Olympic delegate Brian Boitano announces he is gay


Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World