Lakers fail to make first and second NBA all-defensive teams

The 2012 NBA all-defensive first team was announced Monday, with six players being named: Chris Paul, LeBron James, Serge Ibaka, Tony Allen and a tie at center between Tyson Chandler and Joakim Noah.

Though winning the defensive player of the year award, Marc Gasol of the Memphis Grizzlies did not make the first team.

Members of the Lakers were not represented on either the first or second teams, with Tim Duncan, Paul George, Avery Bradley, Mike Conley and Gasol rounding out the latter group.


Dwight Howard, with three first-place votes, came in fifth at his position behind the winners and Larry Sanders of the Milwaukee Bucks.

Both Kobe Bryant and Metta World Peace received first-place votes.

Bryant has been on either the first or second all-defensive team in every season except one (2005) dating back to 2000.

Howard was named the defensive player of the year for three straight seasons, 2009-2011. He has been on the last four all-defensive first teams and was on the second team in 2008.

World Peace, then Ron Artest, was named as defensive player of the year in 2004. He has also made two appearances each on the first and second all-defensive teams.

Voting was done by 30 NBA coaches, who were not permitted to vote for any of their own players.


Lakers’ week in review

Mark Madsen reportedly in negotiation to be D-Fenders coach

Lakers season wrap: Coach Mike D’Antoni worthy of blame or credit?

Email Eric Pincus at and follow him on Twitter @EricPincus.