The Costume Designers Guild Awards’ 2009 nominees come with some surprises

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Nominees for the 12th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards were recently announced -- and among the usual suspects are a few unexpected names.

Newbie TV show “Glee” joins “Big Love,” “Ugly Betty” and other stalwarts in the outstanding contemporary television series category, and the costumes for “True Blood” are poised to battle those of “The Tudors” and the fashion-y “Mad Men” for the outstanding period/fantasy television series title.
Other surprises include the nomination of “Brüno” (viva lederhosen!) and “Crazy Heart” for excellence in contemporary film, and “Avatar” for excellence in fantasy film. (Was anyone even wearing clothes in ‘Avatar’? All I recall is fields of blue skin.)


Least surprising are the nominees for excellence in period film, which include nearly every memorable period film from 2009: “Coco Before Chanel,” “Julie & Julia,” “Nine,” “Sherlock Holmes” and “The Young Victoria.”

The Costume Designers Guild, which was founded in 1953, has more than 700 members and includes motion picture, television and commercial costume designers, assistant costume designers and illustrators.

The winners will be announced at an awards gala on Feb. 25 at the Beverly Hilton. For a complete list of nominees provided by the guild, click after the jump.
Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

Big Love: Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko
Dancing with the Stars: Randall Christensen
Glee: Lou Eyrich
No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency: Jo Katsaras
Ugly Betty: Patricia Field

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series

Mad Men: Janie Bryant
True Blood: Audrey Fisher
The Tudors: Joan Bergin

Outstanding Made for TV Movie or Mini Series

Georgia O'Keeffe: Michael Dennison
Grey Gardens: Catherine Marie Thomas
Little Dorrit: Barbara Kidd

Excellence in Contemporary Film

(500) Days of Summer: Hope Hanafin
Brüno: Jason Alper
Crazy Heart: Doug Hall
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire: Marina Draghici
Up in the Air: Danny Glicker

Excellence in Period Film

Coco Before Chanel: Catherine Leterrier
Julie & Julia: Ann Roth
Nine: Colleen Atwood
Sherlock Holmes: Jenny Beavan
The Young Victoria: Sandy Powell

Excellence in Fantasy Film

Avatar: Mayes C. Rubeo & Deborah Lynn Scott
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus: Monique Prudhomme
Star Trek: Michael Kaplan

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design

Milk: ‘Milkquarious’: Casey Storm

-- Emili Vesilind

Top photo: Sacha Baron Cohen as Brüno. Credit: Universal Pictures.