‘Social Network’ and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ win editing awards

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

‘The Social Network’ and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ won the feature film Eddie Awards presented by the American Cinema Editors on Saturday evening at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.
‘The Social Network’ earned best edited feature film drama for Angus Wall, A.C.E., and Kirk Baxter, and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ received best edited feature film comedy or musical for Chris Lebenzon, A.C.E.

‘Toy Story 3' won best edited animated feature for Ken Schretzmann and Lee Unkrich, while Tom Fulford and Chris King won best edited documentary for ‘Exit Through the Gift Shop.’

The 61st annual awards also handed out Eddies in TV categories. ‘Modern Family’ received the award for Jonathan Schwartz for best half-hour edited series for TV; ‘The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye,’ edited by Hunter Via, won for best edited one-hour series for commercial TV; Kate Sanford, A.C.E., and Alexander Hall received best edited one-hour series for non-commercial TV for ‘Treme: Do You Know What It Means.’

Leo Trombetta, A.C.E., won best edited miniseries or motion picture for televison for ‘Temple Grandin,’ while ‘If You Really Knew Me: Colusa High,’ edited by Rob Goubeaux, Jeremy Gantz, Hilary Scratch, Ken Yankee, Mark S. Andrew, A.C.E., Heather Miglin, John Skaare and Paul J. Coyne, won best edited reality series.

Ruben Jacques Sebban of the AFI won the Student Editing Competition. Christopher Nolan took home the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award, and Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Michael Brown, A.C.E., and Michael Kahn, A.C.E. Edgar Burcksen, A.C.E., and Vincent LoBrutto earned the Robert Wise Award.

-- Susan King