Clayton Kershaw will not be suspended for hitting Gerardo Parra


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Left-handed pitcher Clayton Kershaw will not be suspended for hitting Arizona’s Gerardo Parra with a pitch in the sixth inning Wednesday night, a league source told The Times’ Bill Shaikin.

A major candidate for the National League Cy Young Award, Kershaw is scheduled to make two more starts before the season ends. He is currently 19-5 with a league-best 2.30 earned-run average and 236 strikeouts.


By not suspending Kershaw for six games, as MLB had the Angels’ Jeff Weaver last month, the league is all but admitting that umpire Bill Welke was mistaken in his immediate ejection of Kershaw.

No warning had been issued to either bench when Kershaw hit Parra on the right elbow and Welke ejected Kershaw.

Kershaw had jawed at Parra the previous night after the Diamondbacks’ left field stood at the plate and admired a home run hit off Hong-Chih Kuo.

Kershaw should complete his final turn in the rotation before the Dodgers open their season-ending series in Phoenix and against Parra and the Diamondbacks.

[Updated at 10:28 p.m., Sept. 15: After Thursday’s game, Kershaw, when told he would not be suspended, said, ‘They got it right. I’m glad I get to pitch. I’m happy.’’]



Bill Plaschke: Clayton Kershaw cements his Cy Young credentials

Hiroki Kuroda has MRI on next, will start Friday

Dodgers ask whether ownership is affecting season-ticket renewal

-- Steve Dilbeck