California congressional delegation: split scorecard


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

California’s U.S. senators, Democrats Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer, got top grades from the League of Conservation Voters in the environmental group’s annual congressional scorecard. Both earned 100, as did 14 of the state’s House members, giving the California delegation more perfect scores than any other state.

But being the diverse place that California is, the delegation also racked up its share of zero scores -- 11, to be precise.


The ratings were based on 11 Senate and 13 House votes, most of which dealt with energy issues. Feinstein and Boxer consistently supported renewable energy and energy efficiency, according to the league, which has been rating Congress on environmental matters for 30 years.

The league gave a rating of A+ to Reps. Barbara Lee (D-Oakland), Ellen O. Tauscher (D-Alamo), Pete Stark (D-Fremont), Anna G. Eshoo (D-Menlo Park), Michael M. Honda (D-San Jose), Zoe Lofgren (D-San Jose), Lois Capps (D-Santa Barbara), Howard L. Berman (D-Valley Village), Adam B. Schiff (D-Burbank), Henry A. Waxman (D-Beverly Hills), Maxine Waters (D-Los Angeles), Jane Harman (D-Venice), Linda T. Sanchez (D-Lakewood) and Susan A. Davis (D-San Diego).

The ‘F’ class included Reps. Wally Herger (R-Chico), Dan Lungren (R-Gold River), Devin Nunes (R-Tulare), Kevin McCarthy (R-Bakersfield), Elton Gallegly (R-Simi Valley), David Dreier (R-San Dimas), Ed Royce (R-Fullerton), Gary G. Miller (R-Diamond Bar), Dana Rohrabacher (R-Huntington Beach), John Campbell (R-Irvine) and Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-Alpine).

-- Bettina Boxall