Tanning beds off-limits to minors, Gov. Jerry Brown decides


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Minors in California will no longer be able to use tanning beds after Gov. Jerry Brown signed legislation Sunday backed by healthcare groups warning of skin-cancer risks.

Current law allows minors who are at least 14 years old to use an ultraviolet tanning device if they have written permission from their parents. But Sen. Ted Lieu (D-Torrance) said his bill was needed to protect those under 18 from the risk of adverse health effects, including skin cancer, that are possible from prolonged exposure to ultraviolet rays.


‘If everyone knew the true dangers of tanning beds, they’d be shocked,’’ Lieu said. ‘Skin cancer is a rising epidemic and the leading cause of cancer death for women between 25 and 29.’

SB 746, which takes effect Jan. 1, was supported by the American Cancer Society, the California Medical Assn. and the AIM at Melanoma Foundation. It was opposed by the Indoor Tanning Assn., an industry group, and businesses including Hollywood Tan, Palm Beach Tan and Club Tan.


Gov. Jerry Brown signs Dream Act

New law lets 12-year-olds consent to preventive care for STDs

Autism coverage mandated in California under bill signed by Brown


-- Patrick McGreevy