Justin Verlander is unanimous choice for AL Cy Young Award

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Justin Verlander made it easy for the American League Cy Young Award voters. After capturing the league’s pitching triple crown, the Detroit Tigers ace was rewarded with all 28 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers’ Assn. of America in results announced Tuesday.

With 160 total points, Verlander easily beat out runner-up Jered Weaver of the Angels. Weaver got 17 second-place votes, eight for third, two for fourth and one for fifth for a total of 97 points.

Tampa Bay’s James Shields was a distant third with 66 points, followed by the New York Yankees’ CC Sabathia with 63.

Verlander is the 12th triple-crown winner in AL history, and all 12 have gone on to win the Cy Young Award. He went 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA and 250 strikeouts. He is the first unanimous choice since Johan Santana in 2006.


He also pitched a no-hitter and won 12 straight starts for the Tigers, who won their first division title since 1987. Weaver was 18-8 with a 2.41 ERA and 198 strikeouts.

The manager of the year awards will be announced Wednesday, followed by the National League Cy Young Award on Thursday, the AL MVP on Monday and the NL MVP next Tuesday.


Angels GM: Better on-base percentage will take time

Dodgers not expected to make run at Prince Fielder, Albert Pujols

Bill Plaschke: Matt Kemp’s new contract is the first step in Dodgers’ revival

-- Chuck Schilken

The Associated Press contributed to this report.