Five area residents were among 49 people...

Five area residents were among 49 people to receive the Congressional Award Gold Medal at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. Awards went to Lavyddya U. Anderson, 21; Katherine L. Elser, 20; James T. Evans, 22, and Cynthia Louise Tamminga, 20, all of Long Beach, and Timothy M. Duenas, 23, of Bellflower. The award is given to adults ages 20 to 23 who have accumulated 400 hours of public service in addition to 200 hours of physical fitness and personal development outside school.

William Montgomery, a senior at Paramount High School, as been accepted by the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Montgomery, 17, of South Gate, plans to major in political science, study law and eventually enter politics.

Stephen L. Phillips has taken over as business manager for the Montebello Unified School District, replacing Walter R. Hogle, who retired this month.

Albert J. Navarro of Pico Rivera has been elected president of the Hispanic Students Assn. of Whittier College for the spring semester.

Robert O. Anderson, chairman of the board of the Atlantic Richfield Co., received the 1985 Horizon Award from the Long Beach-based Senior Care Action Network Foundation last week.

The award is given annually to an individual who has made contributions to the community. The SCAN Health Plan is a health maintenance organization for senior citizens.

Kathryn A. Turner, associate dean of occupational programs at Long Beach City College, is one of 160 top American women in management chosen to participate in a leadership training program.

The program, which will pair Turner with a mentor and involve her in research projects, special workshops and national conferences, is designed to help women improve the skills they will need to assume major decision-making roles.

Five Claremont McKenna College students from the Southeast area were named to the college's fall semester honors list. Richard Hanki of Cerritos, San San Lee of South Gate and Martin Sandoval of Whittier were named to the dean's list. Brian Kennedy of Downey and John Teeples of South Gate were named distinguished scholars.

Arthur Gerrick of Norwalk has joined the staff of the Coast Plaza Medical Center in Norwalk as executive director.

Rep. Mervyn M. Dymally (D-Compton) has been elected chairman of the House Subcommittee on Postal Personnel and Modernization. Rep. Matthew G. Martinez (D-Monterey Park) has been elected chairman of the House Subcommittee on Employment Opportunities.

Eleanor K. Chow, a member of the Montebello Unified School District Board of Education, has been elected president of the Assn. of California Urban School Districts. The association is made up of the 18 largest school districts in the state.

The Whittier Branch of the American Assn. of University Women presented its Las Distinguadas Award to Mary Burkhalter and Jan Maples, both of Whittier, and Ruth Johnson, of La Habra.

Dorothy Chamberlain of Hacienda Heights has retired as executive vice president of the Whittier District Board of Realtors after serving as vice president 26 years.

Ken Friedman has been named director of hospital advancement for St. Mary Medical Center in Long Beach.

Hazel Farris, director of volunteer services at Presbyterian Intercommunity Hospital in Whittier, has been named president of the American Society of Directors of Volunteers Services of the American Hospital Assn.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World