Actress to Present Awards in Theater Guild Competition

Actress Julie Harris will present awards to winners of the annual Beverly Hills Theater Guild Julie Harris Playwright Awards competition at a champagne buffet at 4:30 p.m. Sunday in the Greystone Mansion gardens.

First prize of $5,000 will be awarded to Katherine Jones Rao of Austin, Tex., for the play "The Women of Cedar Creek." Second prize of $1,000, the Dr. Henry and Lillian Nesburn Award, will go to Jan Paetow of Bogota, N.J., for the play "Your Basic Solitary Dancers." Third prize of $500 will be given to Gram Slaeton of Minnesota for the play "Carol and Charlie."

Also to be honored is Gordon Davidson, artistic director of the Center Theatre Group and Mark Taper Forum.

The Beverly Hills Theater Guild was established in 1977 to promote community interest in theater, to give inner-city children and senior citizens the opportunity to experience theater performances, and to encourage and discover talent through its annual playwright awards competition.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World