Newport Beach : Councilman Will Head Committee on Harbor

City Councilman Donald A. Strauss has been named to head a new nine-member advisory committee on water quality and the upkeep of Newport Harbor.

Mayor Philip R. Maurer appointed Strauss to chair the committee, which met for the first time last week. The council also appointed Councilwoman Ruthelyn Plummer to the advisory body.

Private citizens who were selected to represent each of the seven council districts are Nancy Skinner, Tom Orlando, Bill Harris, Janie Arnold, Tom Houston, Robert Hopkins and Mark Gaughan.

"Anything we can do to keep it cleaner and improve its water quality, that's what we're after," Strauss said of the bay.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World