Times Wins Loeb Award

The Los Angeles Times has won a special Gerald Loeb Award for “overall excellence of business coverage,” it was announced Thursday.

A spokeswoman for the UCLA Graduate School of Management, which administers the Loeb awards, said it appears to be the first time that judges in the awards contest--among the most prestigious in business journalism--have given a special award to a publication for the overall quality of its coverage.

In granting the special citation, judges remarked that The Times has excelled year after year in a variety of awards categories.

The awards, established in 1957 by the late E. F. Hutton Vice Chairman Gerald Loeb, honor journalists for their contributions to the public understanding of business issues.


Individual winners of the 1987 Gerald Loeb Awards were: For beat/deadline reporting, Daniel Hertzberg and James B. Stewart of the Wall Street Journal for their coverage of the Wall Street insider trading scandal; for papers with circulation of more than 400,000, Kimberly Greer for “The Empire Crumbles” series in Newsday; for papers with circulation between 150,000 and 400,000, Edward O. Welles for “Technical Equities” in the San Jose Mercury News’ West magazine; for papers with circulation of less than 150,000, Brent Walth of the Willamette (Ore.) Week for “Floating Point’s Troubled Waters”; for national magazines, William C. Symonds and his editorial team for “Trouble!” in Business Week, and, for commentary, Richard Doak for editorials on farm policy in the Des Moines Register.