Special Programs DirectorNorwalk resident Alex Morales has...

Special Programs Director

Norwalk resident Alex Morales has been appointed administrator of special programs in the South Whittier School District. Special programs include education of migrant workers’ children, bilingual education, school improvement, preschool, day care for children of working parents and administration of the Carmela Children’s Center. Morales, 38, previously was principal of Los Altos Elementary School near Whittier. He also has been an assistant principal in the Paramount Unified School District, a teacher in the El Rancho Unified School District and currently is president of the Little Lake City School District Board of Education in Santa Fe Springs.

ABC Board Elects Officers

In its annual reorganization, the ABC Unified School District Board of Education has selected Catherine Grant as president of the seven-member board. Grant, who was elected to the board in 1985, replaces Elizabeth Hutcheson. Hutcheson did not seek reelection. Board member Barbara Goul was chosen vice president and Jim Weisenberger, who was elected to the board in November, was made clerk.


Lynwood Mayor Reelected

For the second consecutive year, Paul Richards was chosen mayor of Lynwood during the City Council’s annual reorganization. By a 3-2 vote, Richards was selected to serve a one-year term as the ceremonial head of the council. Richards, 31, was elected to the council in 1986. Councilman Louis Heine, who was elected to the council Nov. 3, was chosen vice mayor.

Man About Town Chosen

Whittier resident David E. Morgan was honored by the East Whittier chapter of Soroptimist International as its “Man About Town” in a fashion show competition during its Holiday Fashion Fantasy, a benefit event that raised more than $14,000 for the Whittier Earthquake Disaster Relief Fund. Morgan was the first executive director of Whittier Hospital Medical Center when the hospital was put under the corporate control of Summit Health Ltd., and is now the president and chief operating officer of Summit Hospital Group. Mary Ann Sullivan was chairman of the Soroptimist event and Margaret Elgorriaga was in charge of decorations.


School Trustee Appointed

Jerry L. Powell, a Los Angeles police officer, has been appointed to fill an unexpired term on the Lowell Joint School District Board of Trustees. Powell, 40, is a police sergeant and has two children attending Jordan School in the small elementary district which serves eastern Whittier and part of La Habra. He replaces Herbert H. Griffith, who cited business and personal reasons for his resignation earlier this year. Powell will complete the remainder of Griffith’s term, which expires in November, 1989.

President of College Board

Emily Hart-Holifield has been reelected by her fellow members to a second consecutive term as president of the Compton Community College Board of Trustees. Hart-Holifield, a 47-year-old resident of Compton, has been a member of the board since 1975. Board Vice President Jane M. Astredo and Clerk James E. Carter also were returned to their offices.


Speaker at Schools Meeting

Suzanne SooHoo, principal of Carver Elementary School in Cerritos, part of the ABC Unified School District, was selected one of 14 principals throughout the United States to be a presenter at a conference of the Education Commission of the States held last week in Washington, D.C. She spoke on “Equity and School Renewal.” Mrs. SooHoo was nominated for the conference by Dr. John Goodlad of the University of Washington, who requested that she represent the National Partnership of Schools, which links the ABC district in professional partnership with the Claremont Graduate School.

6 Win Awards for Writing

Six high school seniors in the Long Beach Unified School District have been selected by their English teachers to receive writing achievement awards from the National Council of Teachers of English. They are Craig W. Carter and Keri L. McKenzie, both of Lakewood High; Tina Nguyen, Jordan High; Tamara Hook, Millikan High; John Kim, Polytechnic High; and Colleen M. LaBerteaux, Wilson High. There were 700 winners nationwide chosen by judging teams who evaluated writing samples and an impromptu essays.


5 Scouting Leaders Honored

Five adult scouting leaders have received awards of merit for volunteer service through the Long Beach Area Council of Boy Scouts. They are John Watts, a Cerritos resident; Charles Kotal of Bellflower, Larry Facey of Lakewood, Jerold Crutchfield of Cerritos and Robin Christopherson of Long Beach. All are members of the Montana District, one of three Boy Scout districts in and around Long Beach, which has about 900 registered adult leaders serving more than 2,000 boys in North Long Beach, Lakewood and Bellflower.