Democrats Name Members of Panel on Global Economy

United Press International

Congressional Democrats announced their appointments Monday to the National Economic Commission created by Congress last year to make recommendations for dealing with global and national economic issues.

The commission is scheduled to make a final report on March 1, 1989.

House Speaker Jim Wright of Texas and Senate Majority Leader Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia named six members. President Reagan and congressional Republicans will name the other six.

Wright appointed Rep. William H. Gray III (D-Pa.), chairman of the House Budget Committee; Felix Rohatyn, partner in the investment firm of Lazard-Freres, and former U.S. Trade Commissioner Robert S. Strauss.

Byrd named Lee A. Iacocca, chairman of the Chrysler Corp.; AFL-CIO President Lane Kirkland, and Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan (D-N.Y.).

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World