St. Patrick's Parade Chief to Remain Male

Associated Press

A Bank of Ireland executive has been elected grand marshal of this year's St. Patrick's Day parade, defeating a candidate who sought to become the first woman to lead the parade in its 225-year history.

William J. Burke received 310 votes Tuesday to 177 for Dorothy Hayden Cudahy, who lost for the third straight year. She is known as the First Lady of Irish radio for her "Irish Memories" program, which is broadcast on WEVD-FM.

The vote was by representatives of 191 organizations affiliated with the Ancient Order of Hibernians, an Irish-American social club.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World