39 Students Awarded Merit Scholarships

Thirty-nine high school students from the San Fernando and Santa Clarita valleys and Ventura County are among 6,000 recipients of Merit Scholarships in 1988.

The nonprofit National Merit Scholarship Corp., founded in 1955, selects students based on outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements. Scholarships are awarded in three categories: National Merit Scholarships, some of which are sponsored by corporations, foundations and other organizations; college and university, and corporate, in which most winners are children of employees.

Financial assistance ranges from $500 to $8,000 per year for four years of undergraduate study; some scholarships are nonrenewable awards with a single payment of $2,000.


Among the 1,800 winners of $2,000 National Merit Scholarships are:

Gregory M. Mose of Calabasas, Buckley School in Sherman Oaks.

Alan J. Schwartz of Canoga Park, Van Nuys High School.

Andrew D. Cohen and Sung H. Rhee, both of Chatsworth, and David Wang of Northridge; all of Chatsworth High School.

Matthew J. Ehrlich of Encino, Harvard School in North Hollywood.

Carlos F. Lerner of Encino, Birmingham High School, Van Nuys.

Dylan C. Shrader of Newbury Park, Newbury Park High School.

Thousand Oaks residents David M. Mann and Karen C. Yao, Thousand Oaks High School.

Mark E. Ellis of Woodland Hills, El Camino Real High School, Woodland Hills.

Matthew N. Petach of Woodland Hills, Taft High School, Woodland Hills.

Charles R. Roberts of Ojai, Thacher School, Ojai.

Among the more than 2,800 recipients of college- and university-sponsored scholarships are:

Canoga Park residents Katherine Foctracer, Harvey Mudd College; David A. Langsam, UCLA; Donald Sobelman, UCLA, and Alexander T. Wong, UCLA. Also, Woodland Hills residents Rebecca L. Stein, UCLA, and Inna Turovsky, UCLA; all of El Camino Real High School, Woodland Hills.

James C. Munn of Canyon Country, UC Santa Barbara, Canyon High School.

Gregory Bass of Los Angeles, UCLA; Karen D. Williams of North Hollywood, Grinnell College, and Daniel N. Most of Van Nuys, UC San Diego, all of Van Nuys High School.

Steven A. Rivers of Northridge, UCLA, Chaminade College Preparatory, Canoga Park.

Michael A. Winkler of Santa Monica, University of Chicago, and Aaron P. Lipeles of Thousand Oaks, Tufts University, both of Harvard School.

Teresa A. Roberts of Sepulveda, Occidental College, Downtown Business Magnet High School, Los Angeles.

Thousand Oaks residents Kathleen M. Brown, UCLA, and Timothy B. Macoux, UCLA, both of Thousand Oaks High School.

Ernest F. Hasselbrink of Thousand Oaks, University of Houston, Westlake High School.

Colin J. McLaren of Camarillo, USC, Villanova Preparatory School, Ojai.

Among the nearly 1,400 winners of corporate-sponsored scholarships are:

Gregory T. Marks of Canoga Park, RCA, Chatsworth High School.

Charles R. Renert of Canoga Park, Litton Industries, and Patrick M. Ogle of Northridge, Allied-Signal Foundation, both of Van Nuys High School.

Thomas C. Downes of Canyon Country, Litton, Canyon High School.

Leo M. Marks of North Hollywood, National Starch & Chemical Corp., Harvard School.

Alva Chang of Thousand Oaks, GTE Corp., Newbury Park High School.

Thousand Oaks residents James W. Flood, Prudential Insurance Co. of America, and Maureen H. McArthur, Lockheed Leadership Fund, both of Thousand Oaks High School.

Lisa K. Forssell of Valencia, Shaklee Corp., William S. Hart High School, Newhall.

Kristine E. Johnson of Westlake Village, Prudential Insurance, Westlake High School.