Southeast : Local Teachers Among 61 Honored by County Board

Southeast area teachers were among 61 from 54 school districts to be honored Wednesday as the county's "Teachers of the Year" by the Los Angeles County Board of Education during American Education Week, Nov. 12-18.

Teachers honored from this area: Anita O. Wilson, Bellflower Unified School District; Orpheus O. Anderson Jr., Compton Unified School District; Constance Boardman, Downey Unified School District; Elena Fajardo, East Whittier City School District; Carol Ann Corbet, Little Lake City School District; Mark Curran, Long Beach Unified School District; Neil Van Steenbergen, Long Beach Unified School District; Mitsuyo Tanaka, Los Nietos School District; Elaine Tada, Lowell Joint School District; Glen C. Kaskela, Paramount Unified School District; Constance Fairbanks, South Whittier School District; Joyce E. Nelson, Whittier City School District; and Bonnie Jo Panagos, Whittier Union High School District.

Dr. W. Ann Reynolds, chancellor of the California State University system, spoke at the luncheon honoring the teachers.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World