WINTER SPORTS ROUNDUP : U.S. Team Wins Two-Man Bobsled Nations' Cup Title

From Associated Press

The U.S. bobsled team of Darin Peterson and Tracy Ellis finished with a time of 2:51.87 Sunday to win the Nations' Cup competition at Lake Placid, N.Y.

The Latvia-USSR team of Voldemars Batarags and Aris Abolinsh placed second with a time of 2:52.24. Bruce Rosselli and Ron Recker of the United States finished third at 2:52:42.

Other top U.S. finishers were seventh-place Brian Richardson and Edward Duncan of San Jose, and 10th-place Charles Mitchell and Jeff Peek.

Frantisek Jez of Czechoslovakia sailed 113.5 meters to win a World Cup 120-meter ski jumping event at Predazzo, Italy.

Jez was runner-up after a 112-meter effort on the first jump, but moved into the lead by registering the day's longest jump on his second effort, compiling a total of 221.5 points.

Andrea Rauschmeier of Austria, leader after one round, took a spectacular fall on the last jump and broke his left collarbone.

Ernst Vettori of Austria, who jumped 106.5 and 110.5 meters, maintained his overall lead in the World Cup standings by finishing second with 200.5 points.

Jim Holland of the United States was 42nd with 141 points.

Michel Roth of Switzerland won the men's aerials and Elfie Simchen of West Germany took the women's title in an FIS World Cup freestyle ski competition at Nagano, Japan.

Roth had 213.037 points, followed by Jean-Marc Bacquin of France at 209.932 and Russ Magnanti of the U.S. at 208.090.

Conny Kissling of Switzerland won the women's combined. Kristean Porter of the U.S. was second.

Bjoern Daehlie of Norway won a men's World Cup cross-country ski race at Campra, Switzerland.

Daehlie was timed in 38 minutes 53.4 seconds in the 15-kilometer freestyle race. Countryman Vegard Ulvang was 20 seconds back.

Manuela di Centa of Italy posted her first victory on the women's circuit by winning a women's 15-kilometer freestyle event at Pontresina, Switzerland.

Di Centa posted a time of 39:04.0 minutes, nearly seven seconds ahead of two-time world champion Yelena Vaelbe of the Soviet Union.

Johann-Olav Koss of Norway resisted a challenge from three Dutch rivals, to win the four-event world speed skating championship at Innsbruck, Austria.

Koss had 164.099 points, while Ben Van der Burg finished 164.490 points, followed by European champion Bart Veldkamp 164.648, and Gerard Kemkers at 165.471.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World