‘The Simpsons’ Named Best Animated Series in Early Awards


Fox’s smash hit “The Simpsons” was named best animated program of the 1989-90 TV season during Saturday’s portion of the 42nd annual Emmy Awards, which covered 44 categories among nighttime programs.

“The Simpsons,” not eligible under current rules of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences to be entered in the outstanding comedy series category, won out over nominees “Garfield’s Feline Fantasies,” “Garfield’s Thanksgiving,” “Why, Charlie Brown, Why?” and its own “The Simpsons Christmas Special,” all single-episode shows.

Other winners during Saturday’s banquet ceremony, which mostly focused on craft and technical categories, included ABC’s “Twin Peaks,” which picked up Emmys for editing and costume design. NBC’s miniseries “The Phantom of the Opera” also won awards in two categories, while HBO’s “Carmen on Ice” and Fox’s now-defunct “The Tracey Ullman Show” each won three.

The ceremony, hosted by actor-comedian Paul Reiser from the Pasadena Civic Exhibition Hall, will be broadcast Tuesday at 8 p.m. on KTTV Channel 11--the first time the technical awards have been televised.

Here are the Saturday winners:

Children’s Program: “A Mother’s Courage: The Mary Thomas Story” (from “The Magical World of Disney”), NBC (producers Ted Field, Robert W. Cort, Patricia Clifford, Kate Wright, Richard L. O’Connor, Chet Walker).


Animated Program (one hour or less): “The Simpsons,” Fox (producers James L. Brooks, Matt Groening, Sam Simon, Richard Sakai, Al Jean, Mike Reiss, Larina Jean Adamson, Margot Pipkin, supervising animation director Gabor Csupo, director David Silverman, writer John Swartzwelder).

Informational Series: “Smithsonian World,” PBS (producers Adrian Malone, Sandra W. Bradley).

Informational Special: “Dance in America: Bob Fosse Steam Heat” (from “Great Performances”), PBS (producers Jac Venza, Judy Kinberg); “Broadway’s Dreamers: The Legacy of the Group Theatre” (from “American Masters”), PBS (producers Jac Venza, Susan Lacy, Joan Kramer, David Heeley, Joanne Woodward).

Classical Program in the Performing Arts: “Aida: The Metropolitan Opera Presents,” PBS (producer Peter Gelb).

Guest Actor, Comedy Series: Darren McGavin (as Bill Brown), “Murphy Brown,” CBS.

Guest Actress, Comedy Series: Swoosie Kurtz (as Laurie), “Carol & Company,” NBC.

Guest Actor, Drama Series: Patrick McGoohan (as Oscar Finch), “Columbo,” ABC.

Guest Actress, Drama Series: Viveca Lindfors (as Mrs. Doubcha), “Life Goes On,” ABC.

Individual Achievement--Classical Music/Dance Programming: Directing: Peter Rosen, Alan Skog, “The Eighth Annual Van Cliburn International Piano Competition: Here to Make Music,” PBS. Performance: Katarina Witt, Brian Orser, Brian Boitano, “Carmen on Ice,” HBO.

Individual Achievement--Informational Programming: Directing: Gene Lasko, “W. Eugene Smith, Photography Made Difficult,” PBS. Performance: George Burns, “A Conversation With. . . ,” Disney Channel.

Special Visual Effects: Craig Barron, Michael Pangrazio, Charlie Mullen, Bill Mather, “By Dawn’s Early Light,” HBO; William Mesa, Tony Tremblay, Tim Donahue, John Coats, David B. Sharp, “Miracle Landing,” CBS; Zbig Rybczynski, John O’Connor, Ryszard Welnowski, Paul Bachmann, “The Orchestra,” PBS.

Costume Design, Miniseries or Special: Shelly Komarov, “The Kennedys of Massachusetts, Part One,” ABC.

Costume Design, Variety or Music Program: Pat Field, “Mother Goose Rock ‘N Rhyme,” Disney Channel.

Costume Design, Series: Patricia Norris, “Twin Peaks,” ABC.

Costuming, Series: Frances H. Hays, “The Young Riders,” ABC.

Music Composition, Series: Dan Davis, “Beauty and the Beast,” CBS.

Music Composition, Miniseries or Special: James Di Pasquale, “Hallmark Hall of Fame: The Shell Seekers,” ABC.

Music Direction: Ian Fraser, Chris Boardman, Bill Byers, Bob Florence, J. Hill, Angela Morley, “Julie Andrews in Concert” (from “Great Performances”), PBS.

Music and Lyrics: Larry Grossman, Buz Kohan, “From the Heart . . . The First International Very Special Arts Festival,” NBC.

Cinematography, Miniseries or Special: Donald M. Morgan, “Murder in Mississippi,” NBC.

Cinematography, Series: Michael Watkins, “Quantum Leap,” NBC.

Editing, Miniseries or Special (multicamera production): M. Pam Blumenthal, Douglas Hines, Brian K. Roberts, “The Best of the Tracey Ullman Show,” Fox.

Editing, Series (single camera production): Duwayne Dunham, “Twin Peaks,” ABC.

Editing, Miniseries or Special (single-camera production): Paul LaMastra, “Hallmark Hall of Fame: Caroline?” CBS.

Editing, Series (multicamera production): Douglas Hines, M. Pam Blumenthal, “The Tracey Ullman Show,” Fox.

Makeup, Miniseries or Special: Ken Chase, “Billy Crystal: Midnight Train to Moscow,” HBO.

Makeup, Series: Rick Stratton, Michelle Burke, Richard Snell, Katalin Elek, Ken Diaz, “Alien Nation,” Fox; Thomas R. Burman, Bari Dreiband-Burman, Dale Condit, Ron Walters, Greg Nelson, “The Tracey Ullman Show,” Fox.

Hairstyling, Miniseries or Special: Janice Alexander, Dorothy Andre, “Fall From Grace,” NBC; Cedric Chami, “The Phantom of the Opera, Part One,” NBC.

Hairstyling, Series: Linle White, Peggy Shannon, “The Tracey Ullman Show,” Fox.

Art Direction, Miniseries or Special: Timian Alsaker, Jacques Bufnoir, “The Phantom of the Opera, Part Two,” NBC.

Art Direction, Variety or Music Program: Roy Christopher, Greg Richman, “The 62nd Annual Academy Awards,” ABC.

Sound Editing, Series: William Wistrom, James Wolvington, Mace Matiosian, Wilson Dyer, Rick Freeman, Gerry Sackman, “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” syndicated.

Sound Editing, Miniseries or Special: Vince Gutierrez, Randal S. Thomas, Ken Gladden, Mace Matiosian, Joseph A. Johnston, T.W. Davis, Douglas N. Gray, John Orr, Gary Gelfand, Andre Caporaso, Russell Brower, David Scharf, Phillip Jamtaas, John Caper Jr., “Challenger,” ABC; Burton Weinstein, Michael Gutierrez, Randal S. Thomas, Joseph A. Johnston, Ken Gladden, George R. Groves, Phillip Jamtaas, Sam Black, Andre Caporaso, Clark Conrad, Gary Gelfand, John Orr, David Scharf, Terence Thomas, T.W. Davis, Abby Treloggen, “Family of Spies, Part One,” CBS.

Sound Mixing, Drama Miniseries or Special: Fred Schultz, William McCaughey, Richard D. Rogers, Grover Helsley, “Cross of Fire, Part One,” NBC.

Sound Mixing, Drama Series: Lowell Harris, Don Cahn, Artie Torgersen, Jim Cook, “China Beach,” ABC.

Sound Mixing, Variety, Music Series or Special: Gordon Klimuck, Barton Michael Chiate, “The Arsenio Hall Show,” syndicated.

Sound Mixing, Comedy Series or Special: Robert Crosby Jr., Thomas J. Huth, Sam Black, Bobby Douglass, “Cheers,” NBC.

Lighting Direction, Comedy Series: George Spiro Dibie, “Just the Ten of Us,” ABC.

Lighting Direction, Drama Series, Variety Series, Miniseries or Special: Olin Younger, “The 17th Annual American Music Awards,” ABC; John Rook, “The Earth Day Special,” ABC.

Technical Direction, Series: Terry Rohnke, Steve Jambeck, Joe DeBonis, Jan Kasoff, John Pinto, Robert Reese, Bruce Shapiro, “Saturday Night Live,” NBC.

Technical Direction, Miniseries or Special: Keith Winikoff, Gary Childs, Dave Banks, Sam Drummy, Hank Geving, Dean Hall, Dave Levisohn, Bill Philben, Hector Ramirez, “The Magic of David Copperfield XII: The Niagara Falls Challenge,” CBS.

Engineering Development: Comark Communications Inc. and Varian/Eimac for the Klystrode UHF High Power Amplifier Tube and Transmitter; Zazcom Video, Inc., for the TBC Control System; Alan Gordon Enterprises for the 300 35mm High Speed Camera.

Casting, Miniseries or Special: Holly Powell, Randy Stone, “The Incident” (from “AT&T; Presents”), CBS. (The TV academy said this Emmy was awarded by a special jury rather than by the voting membership and therefore was not included in the overall tally of awards won either by the program or the network).