HEDGING THEIR BETS: Ross Perot's United We Stand, America, Inc. movement counts at least one senator and 11 House members--including five Californians--as official members, a spokesperson says. The House members, all Republicans, are: Joe L. Barton of Texas; Peter I. Blute of Massachusetts; Christopher Cox, John T. Doolittle, Robert K. Dornan, Dana Rohrabacher and Ed Royce of California; Newt Gingrich of Georgia, Peter Hoekstra of Michigan, Bob Inglis of South Carolina and Ernest Istook Jr. of Oklahoma. The senator is newly elected Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Tex.). . . . According to the Capitol Hill newspaper Roll Call, Cox, Dornan, Rohrabacher, Inglis and Istook all said they were signed up without their knowledge by anonymous benefactors who paid the $15 membership fee. The others, however, all joined of their own accord.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World