Residents Will Choose Council Members Tuesday

The city has tallied the number of residents eligible to vote in the municipal elections Tuesday. Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

In District 1 (Old Town and Surfside), 3,402 voters will decide a three-way race to fill a council seat being vacated by Mayor Marilyn Bruce Hastings. The candidates are county planner Charles Antos, businessman Shawn Boyd and psychologist Matt Duggan.

In District 3 (Marina Hill and part of Old Town), 3,065 residents have a choice between two candidates to replace Councilwoman Gwen Forsythe. The candidates are businessman Stan Anderson and anesthesiologist Paul Yost. Candidate Bill Orton's name will appear on the ballot, but he withdrew from the race earlier this month.

In District 4 (College Park East), 3,552 voters will be asked to decide whether Councilwoman Patty Campbell should be recalled. Voters will also be asked to decide if retired business manager Arden W. Yeam should take the District 4 council seat if a majority of College Park East residents decide to remove Campbell from office. Votes for or against Yeam will not be counted unless the resident also answers yes or no on the recall question.

In District 5 (Leisure World), 3,852 residents will chose between Councilman Harry Fulton and former Councilman William Doane.

For information on polling places call the city clerk's office at (562) 431-7662.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World