4 Area Educators Named Teachers of Year

Four teachers from the San Fernando, Santa Clarita and Antelope valleys are among 12 Los Angeles County educators honored Tuesday as 1998-1999 teachers of the year.

The dozen elementary through high school teachers will compete next month against 65 other educators statewide to represent California in a national competition next spring, according to organizers.

Donald W. Ingwerson, the L.A. County superintendent of schools, announced the winners during a ceremony Tuesday at the Glendale Unified School District offices.

“The 12 winning teachers have been given one of the most cherished honors a professional can receive--the admiration and respect of peers,” Ingwerson said.


The four area winners are:

* John K. Bartke, an American literature and history teacher at Littlerock High School;

* Ingrid Boydston, a fifth- and sixth-grade teacher at Santa Clarita Elementary School;

* Jo Anne Koch, a mathematics teacher at Clark Science and Technology Magnet High School in Glendale, and


* Wesley A. Thomas, a science teacher at Joe Walker Middle School in Quartz Hill.