NEA honors opera figures

From the Associated Press

Soprano Leontyne Price, conductor James Levine, composer Carlisle Floyd and administrator Richard Gaddes will be the initial recipients of the National Endowment for the Arts Opera Honors.

The awards, patterned after the NEA Jazz Masters honors that were established in 1982, will be handed out Oct. 31 in Washington.

NEA Chairman Dana Gioia said only living Americans will be eligible for the NEA honors.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World