Camerawork, NAACP picks

The American Society of Cinematographers and the NAACP Image Awards both announced their nominations Wednesday for the best of 2008. The ASC awards cover feature film, while the Image Awards nominations span movies, TV, music and literature.

For the second consecutive year, Roger Deakins earned double nominations for the ASC's outstanding achievement award.

Deakins received nominations for his work on two period films: "Revolutionary Road" and "The Reader." He shares the nomination for the latter film with Chris Menges. Last year, Deakins was nominated for the ASC award for "No Country for Old Men" and "The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford." Previously, he won for his work on "The Shawshank Redemption" and "The Man Who Wasn't There." Other feature film nominees are Claudio Miranda for the fable "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," Wally Pfister for the "Batman" superhero blockbuster "The Dark Knight" and Anthony Dod Mantle for the critically acclaimed indie love story "Slumdog Millionaire."

The winner will be announced at the 23rd annual ASC awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel on Feb. 15.

For outstanding motion picture in the 40th NAACP Image Awards, the nominees are "Cadillac Records," "The Miracle at St. Anna," "The Secret Life of Bees," "Seven Pounds" and "Tyler Perry's The Family That Preys."

On the television front, "30 Rock," "Everybody Hates Chris," "The Game," "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" and "Ugly Betty" were nominated for outstanding comedy series. "Grey's Anatomy," "House," "Lincoln Heights," "The Unit" and "The Wire" earned nominations for outstanding drama series.

Contenders for outstanding actor in a motion picture are Derek Luke for "Miracle at St. Anna," Don Cheadle for "Traitor," Jeffrey Wright for "Cadillac Records," Rob Brown for "The Express" and Will Smith for "Seven Pounds."

Outstanding actress nominees are Alfre Woodard for "The Family That Preys," Angela Bassett for "Tyler Perry's Meet the Browns," Dakota Fanning and Queen Latifah for "The Secret Life of Bees" and Rosario Dawson for "Seven Pounds."

Supporting actor nominees are Cedric the Entertainer, Columbus Short and Mos Def for "Cadillac Records," Dev Patel for "Slumdog Millionaire" and Nate Parker for "The Secret Life of Bees."

Supporting actress contenders are Alicia Keys, Jennifer Hudson and Sophie Okonedo for "The Secret Life of Bees," Beyonce Knowles for "Cadillac Records" and Taraji P. Henson for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button."

Outstanding independent motion picture nominees are "Ballast," "Noah's Arc: Jumping the Broom," "Rachel Getting Married," "Slumdog Millionaire" and "The Visitor." Halle Berry and Tyler Perry will host the 40th NAACP Image Awards on Feb. 14 at the Shrine Auditorium. The ceremony will air on Fox.

For a complete list of nominees go to www.naacpimage


Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World