The O. Henry Prize - and anthology - announces 2014 winners

National Book Award winner Louise Erdrich is among the authors chosen for the 2014 O. Henry Awards.
(Bettina Strauss / HarperCollins)

The O. Henry Prize announced its 2014 winners Monday. All are short stories that will be included in its upcoming anthology “The O. Henry Prize Stories 2014,” to be released in September.

The 20 winning stories come from 14 publications from a variety of types of publications. There are university literary journals (the Cincinnati Review, New England Review), independent literary magazines (Tin House, Granta), and one major cultural magazine (the New Yorker).

Authors include National Book Award winner Louise Erdrich, relative newcomer Chinelo Okparanta, and 85-year-old William Trevor. The complete list of authors, stories and venues in which they originally appeared is below.

Allison Alsup, “Old Houses” (New Orleans Review)
Chanelle Benz, “West of the Known” (the American Reader)
Laura van den Berg, “Opa-Locka” (the Southern Review)
David Bradley, “You Remember the Pin Mill” (
Olivia Clare, “Pétur” (Ecotone)
Stephen Dixon, “Talk” (the American Reader)
Halina Duraj, “Fatherland” (Harvard Review)
Louise Erdrich, “Nero” (the New Yorker)
Rebecca Hirsch Garcia, “A Golden Light” (the Threepenny Review)
Tessa Hadley, “Valentine” (the New Yorker)
Mark Haddon, “The Gun” (Granta)
Kristen Iskandrian, “The Inheritors” (Tin House)
Dylan Landis, “Trust” (Tin House)
Colleen Morrissey, “Good Faith” (the Cincinnati Review)
Chinelo Okparanta, “Fairness” (Subtropics)
Michael Parker, “Deep Eddy” (Southwest Review)
Kirstin Valdez Quade, “Nemecia” (
Maura Stanton, “Oh Shenandoah” (New England Review)
Robert Anthony Siegel, “The Right Imaginary Person” (Tin House)
William Trevor, “The Women” (the New Yorker)