National Book Award poetry longlist announced

National Book Award poetry longlist announced
Los Angeles poet Amy Gerstler is on the 10-book longlist for the 2015 National Book Award in poetry. (Lawrence K. Ho / Los Angeles Times)

On Tuesday, the National Book Foundation announced the 10 books longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award for Poetry. The list includes two prior National Book Award winners, Marilyn Hacker and Terrance Hayes; previous National Book Award finalist Lawrence Raab; two Cave Canem Fellows, Ross Gay and Robin Coste Lewis; and noted Los Angeles poet Amy Gerstler.

The shortlist for the awards is to be announced Oct. 15, and the winners announced at a gala in New York on Nov. 18.


The complete poetry longlist is below:

Ross Gay, "Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude" (Pitt Poetry Series/University of Pittsburgh Press)

Amy Gerstler, "Scattered at Sea" (Penguin Books/Penguin Random House)

Marilyn Hacker, "A Stranger's Mirror: New and Selected Poems, 1994-2014" (W.W. Norton & Company)

Terrance Hayes, "How to Be Drawn" (Penguin Books/Penguin Random House)

Jane Hirshfield, "The Beauty" (Alfred A. Knopf)

Robin Coste Lewis, "Voyage of the Sable Venus" (Alfred A. Knopf)

Ada Limón, "Bright Dead Things" (Milkweed Editions)

Patrick Phillips, "Elegy for a Broken Machine" (Alfred A. Knopf)

Rowan Ricardo Phillips, "Heaven" (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Lawrence Raab, "Mistaking Each Other for Ghosts" (Tupelo Press)

Book news and more; I'm @paperhaus on Twitter