Facebook wants to help ease the burn of a breakup.
The social media giant introduced new tools Thursday on its mobile app to help users see less of their exes.
Now when you change your relationship status to “single,” Facebook will ask if you want to “take a break” from seeing pictures and posts of your ex. Their name also won’t automatically appear when you’re writing a new message or tagging friends on photos.
You can also choose to limit what your ex sees from your Facebook activity, unless you want to show off your new picture with a rebound.
And don’t worry, it’s perfectly passive aggressive. Facebook won’t notify your former squeeze about any of the changes.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” wrote Facebook Product Manager Kelly Winters in a blog post titled, “Improving the Experience When Relationships End.”
“We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”
Follow @dhpierson for tech news