Advertisement

Former Los Angeles anchor Michaela Pereira’s new HLN show debuts July 11

Michaela Pereira will join HLN for her own three-hour daily news program called "Michaela."
(Turner Broadcasting System)

HLN has set July 11 for veteran Los Angeles anchor Michaela Pereira’s homecoming.

The sister channel to CNN plans to announce Monday that Pereira’s live, three-hour daily news program will be called “Michaela” and air from 7 to 10 a.m. PT and 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. ET.

Originating from CNN’s Los Angeles bureau in Hollywood, “Michaela” will serve as the only live national morning program based on the West Coast. The broadcast network morning shows are on tape delay with live updates as news warrants.

Pereira joined HLN after three years as co-anchor of “New Day,” CNN’s morning program based in New York.

Advertisement

Before her CNN stint, Pereira, was a co-host of “KTLA Morning News,” the top-rated morning show in the Los Angeles market, for nine years.

Pereira expressed a desire to head back to Los Angeles to be closer to family and friends. CNN accommodated her and is using the move to expand HLN’s live, news and talk programming during the day as a breezy alternative to flagship CNN.

Pereira’s program will have a format similar to HLN’s popular “Morning Express with Robin Meade,” which airs from 3 to 7 a.m. PT and 6 to 10 a.m. ET.

Pereira will be reunited with her KTLA executive producer, Scott Warren, who will run her new program.

Advertisement

HLN recently hired Erica Hill, a former co-anchor for weekend editions of NBC’s “Today,” who also will be added to the channel’s daily lineup.

MORE:

Dish Network drops NFL Network and NFL RedZone in a dispute over subscriber fees

Robert Shapiro reveals what O.J. Simpson said after his court verdict was read

Advertisement

David Letterman talks Trump, late-night TV and that beard with Tom Brokaw

Twitter: @SteveBattaglio


Advertisement