Motion Picture and Television Fund pioneers

Star power

Charlie Chaplin, Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks and D.W. Griffith, who founded United Artists, were also among the Hollywood heavyweights who created the Motion Picture and Television Fund — originally the Motion Picture Relief Fund — in 1921.

Jean Hersholt

The actor, then president of the relief fund, found the property in Woodland Hills for the future country house and hospital in 1940. Two years later, ground was broken to begin building the facilities. For his work, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences created the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award in 1956.

Melville Shavelson

The late director, producer and screenwriter ("Houseboat")" donated the money to create Channel 22 so the residents would "continue to be part of the industry and also celebrate their past."

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World