‘For Colored Girls’ wins for best film at NAACP Image Awards

Tyler Perry’s drama “For Colored Girls” was named best film of 2010 Friday evening at the NAACP Image Awards. The film also won outstanding director for Perry and supporting actress for Kimberly Elise.

Denzel Washington was named outstanding actor at the ceremony, which took place at the Shrine Auditorium, for “The Book of Eli,” though the actor did not attend the event. Halle Berry was named outstanding actress for “Frankie & Alice.” The drama, based on a true story, also won outstanding independent film.

“If it were not for the NAACP,” Berry said during her acceptance speech, “a little girl … dared to dream what was impossible, what people said a little black girl could not do” and become an actress.

Samuel L. Jackson received outstanding supporting actor honors for “Mother and Child.” Michael Elliot earned the Image Award for his script for the romantic comedy “Just Wright.”


Perry also took top honors on the comedy TV side.

“Tyler Perry’s House of Payne” won outstanding comedy series, with its star, David Mann, earning outstanding actor in a comedy. Vanessa Williams took home the award for outstanding actress in a comedy series for “Desperate Housewives.” The actress credited the likes of Diahann Carroll and Eartha Kitt as among those who “blazed a trail” before her.

Ice Cube was named outstanding supporting actor in a comedy for “Are We There Yet?” and Sofia Vergara received the award for outstanding supporting actress in a comedy for “Modern Family.” “Grey’s Anatomy” won outstanding drama series. LL Cool J was named outstanding actor in a drama series for “NCIS: Los Angeles,” and Regina King, outstanding actress for “Southland.” S. Epatha Merkerson was named outstanding supporting actress for “Law & Order,” and Terrence Howard won the award for supporting actor in a drama series for “Law & Order: Los Angeles.” “I have never been more proud in my life,” the actor said as he received his award.

“Sins of the Mother” was named outstanding TV movie, miniseries or dramatic special, and it also took outstanding actress for Jill Scott. Idris Elba took home the award for outstanding actor in a TV movie, miniseries or dramatic special for “Luther.”

Former Secretary of State Gen. Colin Powell received the President’s Award. The Chairman’s Award went to Dr. Regina Benjamin, the U.S. surgeon general.

Hosted by Wayne Brady and Holly Robinson Peete, the Image Awards were telecast on Fox.

For a complete list of winners go to