From epics to indies, the changing style of Oscar winners

The style of Oscar-winning movies has changed over the decades from sweeping, big-budget epics to art-house works from independent filmmakers. Many in the industry are wondering what future Oscar contenders may look like after a pledge by the Academy of Motion Picture of Arts and Sciences to increase diversity among its members.

‘Gone With The Wind

Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh star as Rhett Butler and Scarlett O'Hara in "Gone With The Wind."

(New Line Cinema)

“Gone With the Wind” (1939) — One of Hollywood’s greatest blockbusters, the landmark film about the Civil War won eight competitive Academy Awards, including best picture.

O’Toole and Sharif in ‘Lawrence Of Arabia’

Peter O'Toole and Omar Sharif in a still from "Lawrence of Arabia."

(Columbia TriStar)

“Lawrence of Arabia” (1962) — David Lean’s desert epic starring Peter O’Toole won seven Oscars, including best picture, and is considered one of the enduring masterpieces of cinema.

‘My Left Foot’

Ruth McCabe and Daniel Day Lewis in "My Left Foot."


“My Left Foot” (1989) — A breakthrough movie that put small, independent films on the academy’s radar. The movie was nominated for five Oscars, including best picture, and won acting awards for Daniel Day-Lewis and Brenda Fricker.

‘The King’s Speech’

"The King's Speech" with Colin Firth.

(The Weinstein Company)


“The King’s Speech” (2010) — Won best picture and was another testament to Harvey Weinstein’s skill at marketing sophisticated, period dramas.

Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter