Los Angeles Film Festival names 2014 jurors

Destin Daniel Cretton
Director Destin Daniel Cretton (“Short Term 12") is among the jurors of the 2014 Los Angeles Film Festival.
(David Buchan / Getty Images)

“Short Term 12" director Destin Daniel Cretton, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” editor Lynzee Klingman and “Middle of Nowhere” composer Kathryn Bostic are among the jury members of this year’s Los Angeles Film Festival, which kicks off Wednesday and runs through June 19, Film Independent has announced.

Cretton, whose drama “Short Term 12" won an audience award at last year’s LAFF, will sit on the narrative jury along with producer Stuart Cornfeld (“Tropic Thunder”) and film critic Ella Taylor.

The documentary jury comprises Klingman, director Margaret Brown (“The Great Invisible”) and film critic Justin Chang.

Bostic, filmmaker Maryam Keshavarz (“The Day I Died”), director Kevin Bray (“Walking Tall”) and Fox audience-strategy exec Nicole Bernard are the jurors for L.A. Muse, a new section of the festival highlighting movies set in, shot in and inspired by Los Angeles.


The shorts jury consists of actor-filmmaker Todd Berger (“It’s a Disaster”), writer-director Kyle Patrick Alvarez (“C.O.G.”) and casting director Julia Kim (“Get Shorty”).

The festival will award cash prizes in the narrative, documentary and L.A. Muse feature competitions, as well as the narrative, documentary and animated short-film competitions. A jury award will honor the best performance in the narrative section, and audience awards will be presented to the best documentary feature, narrative feature, international feature, short film and music video.

Sponsored by the Los Angeles Times, the LAFF will screen more than 200 feature films, shorts and music videos from more than 30 countries over its nine-day run at L.A. Live’s Regal Cinemas downtown.

Bong Joon-ho’s post-apocalyptic sci-fi film “Snowpiercer” will open the festival, and Clint Eastwood’s big-screen adaptation of the Tony Award-winning musical “Jersey Boys” will close.


For more information, go to

Follow @ogettell for movie news

Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter