Schwarzenegger, Bloomberg at White House for immigration meeting


Former Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger leads a list of 19 so-called “stakeholders” who will meet with President Obama at the White House to discuss immigration reform Tuesday afternoon.

An earlier version of this story incorrectly referred to William J. Bratton as former Los Angeles police commissioner. Bratton was the Los Angeles chief of police.

New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, former Los Angeles Police Department Chief William J. Bratton, Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti and former Republican Sen. Mel Martinez of Florida are also attending, the White House says.

The Obama administration says the group will discuss “the importance of fixing the broken immigration system for our nation’s 21st century economic and security needs.” Other administration officials attending include U.S. Atty. Gen. Eric Holder, Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano and Labor Secretary Hilda Solis.

How immigration reform figures into the 2011 legislative agenda is unclear, but the White House says Obama “remains deeply committed to fixing the broken immigration system.”

“The question is going to be are we going to be able to find some Republicans who can partner with me and others to get this done once and for all instead of using this as a political football,” Obama told a Dallas television station Monday in what was an occasionally-tense interview.

Here’s the full list of attendees, as provided by the White House:


  • Leith Anderson, President, National Assn. of Evangelicals
  • Hon. Michael Bloomberg, City of New York
  • William J. Bratton, Former Police Chief, City of Los Angeles and City of New York
  • Hon. Julian Castro, Mayor, City of San Antonio
  • Michael Chertoff, Former Secretary Homeland Security
  • Gov. John Engler, President and CEO, Business Roundtable
  • Hon. Eric Garcetti, City Council, President City of Los Angeles
  • Carlos Gutierrez, Former Secretary of Commerce
  • Raymond Kelly, Commissioner, New York City Police Department
  • Mel Martinez, Former United States Senator/Chairman, Florida, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean JP Morgan Chase
  • Greg Page, Chairman and CEO, Cargill
  • Federico Pena, Former Secretary of Transportation and Secretary of Energy
  • John Podesta, CEO, Center for American Progress
  • Charles Ramsey, Chief of Police, City of Philadelphia/President, Major City Chiefs
  • Al Sharpton, President, National Action Network
  • Sheryl Sandberg, COO, Facebook
  • Arnold Schwarzenegger, Former California Governor
  • Richard Trumka, AFL-CIO
  • John C. Wester, Bishop, Archdiocese of Salt Lake City