NFL playoff schedule is set


The NFL playoff matchups are set, with the Washington Redskins defeating the Dallas Cowboys, 28-18, in the final game of the regular season Sunday night to win the NFC East title and earn the final postseason berth.

The Denver Broncos, who secured home-field advantage with a 38-3 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs, and New England Patriots earned first-round byes in the AFC thanks to the Houston Texans losing, 28-16, to the Colts in Indianapolis on Sunday.

The Atlanta Falcons, who already secured home-field advantage, and San Francisco 49ers get first-round byes in the NFC.


In the NFC’s first-round games, the Redskins will play host to the Seattle Seahawks and the Green Bay Packers will play host to the Minnesota Vikings, who earned their playoff berth with a 37-34 victory over Green Bay on Sunday.

In the AFC’s first-round games, the Baltimore Ravens will play host to the Colts and the Cincinnati Bengals will travel to Houston to play the Texans.

Here’s the schedule (all times Pacific):


Cincinnati at Houston, 1:30 p.m.

Minnesota at Green Bay, 5 p.m.


Indianapolis at Baltimore, 10 a.m.

Seattle at Washington, 1:30 p.m.

Jan. 12

Lowest-seeded winner at Denver, 1:30 p.m.

Highest-seeded winner at San Francisco, 5 p.m.

Jan. 13


Lowest-seeded winner at Atlanta, 10 a.m.

Highest-seeded winner at New England, 1:30 p.m.

Jan. 20

AFC championship game, TBD

NFC championship game, TBD

Feb. 3

Super Bowl

At New Orleans

AFC champion vs. NFC champion, 3:30 p.m.


Philadelphia Eagles to fire Andy Reid as coach

Adrian Peterson finishes season nine yards shy of rushing record

NFL roundup: Broncos clinch the top AFC seeding with rout of Chiefs