Umpire Mike DiMuro makes terrible call on DeWayne Wise’s ‘catch’
Hey ump, you’re missing a great game. Never has that taunt been more appropriate than if it was said to Mike DiMuro during Tuesday’s New York Yankees-Cleveland Indians game at Yankee Stadium.
In the seventh inning, Yankees left fielder Dewayne Wise tumbled into the seats in his attempt to catch a foul ball in the seventh inning. The video clearly shows Wise dropping the ball into the stands. In fact, a fan grabbed the ball and held it up over his head like a prized trophy.
DiMuro credited Wise with a catch.
That’s right, on a ball that was clearly dropped, DiMuro said it was caught. He didn’t even ask Wise to show him the ball, he just signaled “out.”
After the game, DiMuro told MLB.com, “I went out on the ball and saw the ball into his glove in his stands. He disappeared into the stands, and I believed that the ball was in his glove. In hindsight, I should have asked him to show me the ball, since he fell into the stands and out of my line of vision.”
The blown call probably had no effect on the outcome of the game, which the Yankees won, 6-4, but still. Shouldn’t there be a system in place in which an umpire gets fined and reprimanded for obviously blowing a call that badly?
You can watch a video of the play here.
Go beyond the scoreboard
Get the latest on L.A.'s teams in the daily Sports Report newsletter.
You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.