Mike D’Antoni didn’t receive any votes for ‘Coach of the Year’

Lakers Coach Mike D’Antoni did not receive any votes for the “2013-13 NBA Coach of the Year.”

George Karl, of the Denver Nuggets, was awarded the Red Auerbach Trophy for leading the Denver Nuggets to a 57-25 record. The Nuggets were recently eliminated in the first-round of the playoffs by the surprising Golden State Warriors.


Despite the Lakers’ 28-12 finish over their final 40 games (a 57-win pace), D’Antoni was overlooked in favor of 14 other coaches receiving votes.

Karl received 62-first place votes. Clippers Coach Vinny Del Negro received a first and second-place vote.

Also finishing ahead of D’Antoni: Erick Spoelstra, Mike Woodson, Gregg Popovich, Frank Vogel, Lionel Hollins, Mark Jackson, Tom Thibodeau, Kevin McHale, P.J. Carlesimo, Larry Drew, Doc Rivers and Scott Brooks. Carlesimo has since been relieved of his duties with the Brooklyn Nets.

General Manager Mitch Kupchak came out in support of D’Antoni towards the end of the season, emphasizing that D’Antoni will coach the team next year as well.


After a difficult start, the Lakers overcame significant injuries to finish seventh in the Western Conference. By the postseason, the Lakers had a skeleton crew available to try and challenge the San Antonio Spurs -- who made quick work of the Lakers in a first-round sweep.



Lakers season wrap: When healthy, Steve Blake had L.A.-best year

Lakers season wrap: Steve Nash was effective in revised role


Lakers season wrap: Metta World Peace tried to play hurt

Email Eric Pincus at and follow him on Twitter @EricPincus.