L.A. Now information and Metro staff list

Have a story tip for L.A. Now?

Please send to newstips@latimes.com

Can I call someone with news?

Yes. The city desk number is (213) 237-7847.

What blogs link to L.A. Now stories?

Here is a running list of websites that use L.A. Now content.

Can I follow on Facebook and Twitter?

Yes. @latimescitydesk offers hand-selected Twitter updates on a wide variety of California and L.A. news and is always looking for your news tips and story ideas. You can also follow L.A. Times City Desk on Facebook. Click here for @lanow, a Twitter stream of all our blog headlines.

Who edits the blog?

City Editor Shelby Grad manages L.A. Now. Assignment editors Amanda Covarrubias and Kimi Yoshino handle morning editing; Jill Jones and Steve Marble handle evening editing. Weekend editor Monte Morin handles the blog on Saturday. Nita Lelyveld runs @latimescitydesk. Anthony Pesce handles production and comments.

Who reports for the blog?

Here is a rundown of the Metro staff beats (with links to reporter and editor email addresses):

State Government/Politics

Evan Halper | Sacramento bureau chief

Anthony York | Governor

Shane Goldmacher | State budget/Campaign finance

Cathleen Decker | Political editor/"The Week" columnist

Jack Dolan | State Assembly/Agencies

Patrick McGreevy | State Senate/Agencies

Michael Mishak | State Capitol

Jean Merl | Regional politics

Seema Mehta | State politics

Michael Finnegan | State politics

Law Enforcement

Robert Faturechi | L.A. County Sheriff's Department

Richard Winton | Regional crime

Andrew Blankstein | Regional crime

Joel Rubin | Los Angeles Police Department

Jack Leonard | Criminal courts

Victoria Kim | Civil courts

Scott Glover | Federal law enforcement/Courts

Carol J. Williams | Legal affairs

Maura Dolan | California Supreme Court

Robert J. Lopez | Night reporter

Regional News

Ann Simmons | Southside

Jeff Gottlieb | South Bay/Southeast

Tony Barboza | Coastal Cities

Ruben Vives | Southeast L.A.

Nicole Santa Cruz | Orange County

Hector Becerra | Eastside/Southeast Bureau Chief

Martha Groves | Westside

Corina Knoll | San Gabriel Valley/Pasadena

Kate Linthicum | Hollywood/Silver Lake/Mid-City/West Hollywood

Catherine Saillant | San Fernando Valley/Ventura County

Sam Allen | Regional government

State News

Tony Perry | San Diego

Richard Marosi | Border issues

Maria LaGanga | Northern California/San Francisco

Lee Romney | Northern California/San Francisco

Steve Chawkins | Central Coast/Santa Barbara

Phil Willon | Inland Empire/Riverside

John Hoeffel | State enterprise

Sam Quinones | State enterprise

Local Government/Services

David Zahniser | L.A. City Hall

Maeve Reston | Local politics/L.A. City Hall

Patrick McDonnell | L.A. City Hall/Mayor

Garrett Therolf | L.A. County government

Rong-Gong Lin II | L.A. County government

Dan Weikel | Airports/Aviation

Ari B. Bloomekatz | Transportation/Commuting

Rich Connell | Rail/Local government investigations


Howard Blume | L.A. Unified School District

Carla Rivera | Education

Teresa Watanabe Education

Jason Song | Education

Larry Gordon | Higher education

Gale Holland | Higher education


Paloma Esquivel | Immigration

Ching-Ching Ni | Asian affairs

Alexandra Zavis | Poverty/Social Services

Molly Hennessy-Fiske | Public health

Mitchell Landsberg | Religion

Raja Abdulrahim | Religion

Anna Gorman | Immigration

Margot Roosevelt | Environment/Global warming

Julie Cart | Environment/Open spaces

Bettina Boxall | Environment/Water policy

Louis Sahagun | Environment/Southern California


Jason Felch

Alan Zarembo

Jessica Garrison

Lisa Girion

Kim Christensen

Ken Weiss

Feature Writers

Mike Anton

Esmeralda Bermudez

Thomas Curwen

Christopher Goffard

Scott Gold

Joe Mozingo

Bob Pool

Kurt Streeter


Steve Lopez

Hector Tobar

Sandy Banks

George Skelton

Editor topics

Breaking news: Kimi Yoshino, Amanda Covarrubias (AM), Jill Jones (PM)

Databases: Doug Smith, Megan Garvey, Ben Welsh, Ken Schwencke

Education: Beth Shuster

Education, higher: Rebecca Trounson

Environment: Geoff Mohan

Features: Nita Lelyveld

Health: Megan Garvey, Julie Marquis

Immigration: Carlos Lozano

Investigative: Julie Marquis

Law enforcement: Matt Lait

L.A. City Hall: Bill Nottingham

L.A. County Government: Megan Garvey

News tips: Kimi Yoshino

Orange County: Steve Marble

Regional news: Steve Marble, Jill Jones, Shelby Grad, Nita Lelyveld

Religion: Rebecca Trounson

State government/politics: Linda Rogers, Cathleen Decker

State news: Carlos Lozano

Weekend news: Monte Morin

Transportation: Bill Nottingham, Shelby Grad

Web Deputy: Anthony Pesce

L.A. Now Producer: Soo Oh

What is The Times' policy for reader comments?

Comments are filtered for language and registration is required. Note: Comments on blogs are moderated and will not appear until they have been reviewed by Los Angeles Times staff. Here is the full policy.

Can I get a feed of L.A. Now for my computer or website?

You can get an RSS feed of L.A. Now content here.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times