Essential California: The devastation from Northern California's firestorms comes into grim focus

Candidate filing closes in L.A. County sheriff and assessor's races

The period for candidates to file their paperwork to run for the open Los Angeles County sheriff and assessor's seats has closed, with crowded fields in both races.

Twelve candidates had filed by Wednesday's deadline to run for the assessor's post being vacated by incumbent John Noguez — who is facing criminal charges in a public corruption case and chose not to seek reelection.

Seven put in their paperwork for the sheriff's seat. Former Sheriff Lee Baca announced his retirement in January, with his department under federal investigation over allegations of misconduct by deputies in the jails.

The candidates running to replace Noguez are primarily from within the assessor's office. They include property assessment specialist Yvonne Austin; supervising appraiser Frank Diaz Jr.; appraiser specialist Brilliant Manyere; appraisers Omar Haroon, Krish Kumar, John Loew, Tracy Okida, and Sandy Sun; and Jeffrey Prang, a special assistant to the assessor handling public relations. Sun was the latest to join the race, filing Wednesday.

From outside the assessor's office, L.A. County Head Deputy Dist. Atty. John Morris, Bell City Councilman Nestor Valencia and businessman John Wong — who previously sat on the county's assessment appeals board — are also vying for the seat.

In the sheriff's race, the majority of the candidates are also current or former sheriff's officials. They include retired sheriff's lieutenant Patrick L. Gomez; Assistant Sheriffs James Hellmond and Todd Rogers; retired commander Bob Olmsted and retired undersheriff Paul Tanaka.

From outside the department, Long Beach Police Chief Jim McDonnell and LAPD senior Det. Lou Vince are running for the seat.

Filing for most other seats up for election in the June 3 primary, including two open seats on the county's Board of Supervisors, closed on Friday. The sheriff and assessor's candidates were granted an extension because the incumbents were eligible to seek reelection and chose not to.


LAPD in mourning after 3 officers killed in 2 months

Donald Sterling will fight to keep Clippers, Garcetti predicts

Red Cross assisting homeless residents displaced after shelter fire

Twitter: @sewella

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World