Eddie Murphy to receive Comedy Icon Award at first annual Comedy Awards

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Eddie Murphy will be the inaugural recipient of the Comedy Icon Award at the first Comedy Awards, which will be presented April 10 on multiple MTV Networks outlets, including Comedy Central, Spike, CMT, TV Land, Logo and Nick at Nite.

Murphy, who got his start on ‘Saturday Night Live’ and made his film debut in 1982’s ’48 HRS,’ will be honored for his work in stand-up, sketches, film and television.

‘Eddie Murphy’s impact in the world of comedy is immeasurable,’ Casey Patterson, an executive producer at MTV Networks Entertainment Group, said in a statement Monday. ‘From the characters he created on ‘SNL,’ to his groundbreaking stand-up performances and unforgettable film roles, Murphy changed the game forever.’'

Several presenters and attendees were also announced Monday, including Tina Fey, Jon Stewart, Jimmy Fallon, Tracy Morgan, Matt Stone, Stephen Colbert and Kristen Wiig.



Comedy Central /MTV Networks Comedy Awards nominations announced

New Comedy Award will salute Johnny Carson

Comedy Central to revive American Comedy Awards

-- Susan King