San Diego Roundup : Hydroplane Race Series to Open on Mission Bay


The Pacific Power Boat Club will have its spring regatta Saturday and Sunday on Mission Bay. The regatta is for 12 classes of boats, including the first race in the 1986 Formula 6-Litre Hydroplane Championship Series. This is the first of five power boat races annually held on Mission Bay.

Drivers will compete for points from the American Power Boat Assn., the sanctioning body for power boat racing. San Diegan Wayne Wallace, who was second in the 2 1/2-litre class national points standings last year, will be among the drivers.

Races are scheduled from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. both days, and may be viewed from East Vacation Island, near Ski Beach. Admission and parking are free.


The El Cortez Hotel will be the site of four Southern Regional title fights Thursday night.

Tony DeLuca (6-1-2) will fight Oscar Aguilar (10-0) in a scheduled eight-round bout. Both are from San Diego.

In a scheduled eight-round light-heavyweight fight, Arthur Jimmerson (5-1, with five knockouts) of San Diego will go against Ron Daniels (4-1) of San Luis Obispo.

David Graves (4-0) of San Diego will fight cruiserweight Joey Chrisjohn (5-1), and junior middleweight Gilberto Baptiste (3-1) goes against Manuel Vallejo (2-0) in the other two bouts.

Doors open at 5 p.m.; first fight is at 7.

Cajon Speedway’s 26th auto racing season, which begins at 7:30 Saturday night, will be the opening of the NASCAR Winston Racing Series with super stock, street and bomber stock cars.

Races will be each Saturday night through October 18. The 3/8-mile speedway is adjacent to Gillespie Airfield in El Cajon.

San Diego State will be host to 14 teams in the Frank Scott Aztec Invitational men’s golf tournament April 18-20 at the Carmel Mountain Ranch golf course in Rancho Penasquitos.

The Aztecs, UC San Diego, the University of San Diego and United States International University will play against schools such as USC and Arizona State.

The tournament is named in honor of Frank Scott, who was the Aztec golf coach from 1948 to 1983.