NCAA Men's Tennis Tournament : Stanford Defeats LSU for Title After Going Indoors to Play

Associated Press

Top-seeded Stanford defeated No. 2 Louisiana State, 5-2, Tuesday to win the National Collegiate Athletic Assn. tennis championship after the finals were moved indoors because of rain.

It was Stanford's seventh NCAA title since the team format was adopted in 1977, and the ninth overall for the Cardinal.

In Tuesday's singles action, Stanford's David Wheaton defeated Jeff Brown, 7-6, 3-6, 6-0; Stanford's Jeff Tarango downed Billy Uribe, 6-2, 6-3; LSU's Felix Barrientos beat Patrick McEnroe, 1-6, 7-5, 6-1; Stanford's Martin Blackman overcame Donnie Leaycraft, 1-6, 6-2, 6-2; Stanford's Jeff Cathrall topped Roland So, 6-4, 6-4, and LSU's Mike Hammett defeated Glenn Solomon, 2-6, 7-6, 7-6.

In the clinching doubles match, Wheaton and Tarango beat Brown and Barrientos, 7-6, 7-5.

Poor weather forced the championship round off the University of Georgia's Henry Feild Stadium. In 1980, the last time an NCAA tennis championship was played indoors, Stanford also won, defeating Cal.

Stanford improved its record to 25-1 for the year, while LSU finished at 27-2.

Stanford Coach Dick Gould said his team benefitted all year from avoiding injuries.

"We played exceptionally well and have been real lucky this year to be healthy," he said. "I've never been more proud of our guys."

The NCAA singles championship tournament begins today.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World