College Cross-Country : Jaurequi Lifts Northridge to Ninth Place

Gina Jaurequi of Cal State Northridge, running in conditions that were bad at best and horrendous at worst, placed 27th in the NCAA Division II cross-country championships at Chotaw Trails in Clinton, Miss., on Saturday.

Jaurequi’s performance earned her All-American honors and helped Northridge place ninth in the team standings with 192 points.

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo defeated Air Force, 49-51, to win its seventh consecutive women’s title.

Edinboro State (Pa.) and Mankato State (Minn.) tied for the men’s crown with 77 points.


Jaurequi was timed in 18 minutes, 16 seconds over a course that measured 5,000 meters originally but might have been shorter because it was rerouted after a rain storm hit the Clinton area early Saturday.

“The entire course was just mud and standing water,” Northridge Coach Don Strametz said. “Parts of it were extremely treacherous due to the bad footing.”

Heather Brookes was the Lady Matadors’ second runner, finishing 35th in 18:23.9, and Tammy McCarty was 40th in 18:33.8.

NCAA Division III championships--Amy Cathcart of Occidental earned All-American honors with a 14th-place finish at Forest Park in St. Louis.


Cathcart ran 18:36.2 over the 5,000-meter course as Occidental placed ninth with 241 points. Wisconsin-Oshkosh won the team title with 69 points.

Jeanise Eisenman and Amy Halseth placed 57th and 75th for Occidental.

Emmet Hogan placed 30th for the Tigers in the men’s race, running 25:28.8 over the 8,000-meter (4.98 miles) course.

Hogan and teammates Lionel Shaw (65th) and Chris Tregillis (73rd) helped Occidental place 12th in the team standings.

Wisconsin-Oshkosh also won the men’s team title, placing 3 runners in the top 25 and scoring 66 points.

NAIA championships--Cal Lutheran’s Patrick Byrne placed 38th for the second year in a row.

Byrne ran 25:45 over the 8,000-meter course at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside and the Kingsmen placed 21st with 580 points.

Defending-champion Adams State of Alamosa, Colo., paced by champion Craig Dickson, placed 3 runners in the top 9 for a 51-point total.