Eagles’ QB Cunningham Gets Bell Award

Associated Press

Quarterback Randall Cunningham, who directed the Philadelphia Eagles to their first playoff berth since 1981, today was named winner of the Bert Bell Award as outstanding NFL player of the year.

Cunningham, voted to start for the NFC in the Pro Bowl, won by a 3-1 margin on first-place votes in balloting by Maxwell Football Club members, Pro Football Writers Assn. members, media representatives and all 28 NFL teams.

The four-year veteran completed 301 of 560 passes for 3,808 yards--both Eagles single-season records--and was the NFC’s 11th-leading rusher with a team-leading 624 yards.

Finishing behind Cunningham, in order, were San Francisco running back Roger Craig, Cincinnati quarterback Boomer Esiason, Philadelphia defensive end Reggie White, Buffalo quarterback Jim Kelly and Los Angeles Rams quarterback Jim Everett.