Indy 500 Positions Remain Same After the Official Results Are Posted


The official results of Sunday’s Indianapolis 500 were posted here Monday morning without protest or position changes.

In fact, in the only change, Canadian driver John Jones, who finished 11th, was credited with 189 laps, one more than in the unofficial standings.

One-lap penalties were announced for Rich Vogler and Scott Pruett, both for running over air hoses during pit stops, but each wound up with the same number of laps as previously announced, Vogler in eighth place with 192 and Pruett in 10th with 190. A two-lap penalty against Billy Vukovich III for passing the pace car under the yellow flag had been assessed previously.


Winner Emerson Fittipaldi, who led for 158 of the 200 laps, earned $71,000 in lap prizes to go with the official prize money of a record $1,001,604 from a total purse of more than $5.7 million.

Runner-up Al Unser Jr. earned $390,453 and third-place Raul Boesel won $306,603.