SHORT TAKES : Public TV Honors PBS Executive

From Times Wire Services

Ward Chamberlin, former president of the PBS station in Washington, D.C., received public television's highest honor for his outstanding achievements in the medium.

Chamberlin was presented the Corporation for Public Broadcasting's 1990 Ralph Lowell Award on Sunday at the annual meeting of the Public Broadcasting Service in Dallas.

Chamberlin was president of WETA, the PBS station in Washington, D.C., for 15 years. He also was the first executive vice president at WNET in New York and served as a senior vice president for PBS.

Past winners include Joan Ganz Cooney, founder of the Children's Television Workshop that produces "Sesame Street"; Fred Rogers, creator and host of "Mr. Rogers Neighborhood"; journalist Bill Moyers, and Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, co-anchors of the "MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour."

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World