SPECIAL REPORT: Putting Down Roots : The Times Poll : Who's Been Elected to Do What

One-third of North County residents think of themselves as conservative; 23% as middle-of-the-road; 21% as liberal; and 21% say they don't pay attention to politics. --The Times Poll

Elected officials represent North County interests in governing bodies on the local, county, state and national level. Here's who's who in office:



City hall: 1200 Elm Ave., 92008; phone 434-2820

Mayor: Claude Lewis

Council members: Ann Kulchin, Julianne Nygaard, Margaret Stanton, Eric Larson.

Del Mar

City hall: 1050 Camino Del Mar, 92014; phone 755-9313

Mayor: Jan McMillan

Council members: Rod Franklin, Gay Hugo-Martinez, Jacqueline Winterer, Chris Helton.


City hall: 535 Encinitas Blvd., 92024; phone 944-5050

Mayor: Gail Hano

Council members: Pamela C. Slater, John Davis, Anne Omsted, Maura Wiegand.


City hall: 201 N. Broadway, 92025; phone 741-4638

Mayor: Jerry C. Harmon

Council members: Carla De Dominicis, Kris Murphy, Sid Hollins, Richard A. Foster.


City hall: 300 N. Hill St., 92054; phone 966-4400

Mayor: Lawrence Bagley

Council members: Melba Bishop, Samuel Williamson, Don Rodee, Nancy York.


City hall: 13325 Civic Center Drive, 92064; phone 748-6600

Mailing address: P.O. Box 789, Poway 92064

Mayor: Jan Goldsmith

Council members: Robert Emery, Don Higginson, B. (Tony) Snesko, Kathy McIntyre.

San Marcos

City hall: 105 W. Richmar Ave., 92069; phone 744-4020

Mayor: Lee Thibadeau

Council members: Pia Harris, F.H. Smith, Mark Loscher, Mike Preston.

Solana Beach

City hall: 380 Stevens Ave., Suite 120, 92075; phone 755-2998

Mayor: Richard Hendlin

Council members: Paul Tompkins, Celine Olson, Margaret Schlesinger, Marion Dodson.


City hall: 600 Eucalyptus Ave., 92083; phone 726-1340

Mayor: Gloria McClellan

Council members: Nancy Wade, Dal Williams, Jeanette Smith, Bernard Rappaport.


County Board of Supervisors: County Administration Center, 1600 Pacific Highway, San Diego 92101

Susan Golding

3rd District (includes La Jolla through Cardiff); phone 531-5533.

John MacDonald

5th District (includes coastal and inland area north of Encinitas); phone 531-5555

George Bailey

2nd District (includes Poway and Julian); phone: 531-5522)


Robert C. Frazee

74th District (includes Vista, Oceanside, San Marcos, Carlsbad, Pauma Valley and Valley Center): 3088 Pio Pico Drive., Suite 200, Carlsbad 92008; Phone 434-1749.

Deirdre Alpert

75th District (includes Del Mar, Solana Beach, Encinitas) 3368 Governor Drive, Suite C, San Diego 92122; phone 457-5775.

Tricia Hunter

76th District (includes Poway, Escondido, Julian, Warner Springs, Palomar Mountain) 333 S. Juniper, Suite 214, Escondido 92025; phone 489-8924.


Marian Bergeson

37th Senatorial District (includes Julian, Fallbrook, Camp Pendleton, Pauma Valley, Valley Center) 140 Newport Center Drive, Suite 120, Newport Beach 92660; phone 714-640-1137

William A. Craven

38th Senatorial District (includes Del Mar, Encinitas, Oceanside, Solana Beach, San Marcos, Vista) 2121 Palomar Airport Road, No. 100, Carlsbad 92009; phone 438-3814

Lucy Killea

39th Senatorial District (includes most of Poway) 2550 Fifth Ave., Suite 152, San Diego 92103; phone 696-6955



Bill Lowery

41st Congressional District (includes Del Mar, Solana Beach, Encinitas, Poway) 880 Front St., Room 6-S-15, San Diego 92188; phone 231-0957

Ron Packard

43rd Congressional District (includes Vista, Oceanside, Escondido, Carlsbad, San Marcos) 2121 Palomar Airport Road, No. 105, Carlsbad 92009; phone 438-0443

Duncan Hunter

45th Congressional District (includes Julian, Palomar Mountain, Warner Springs) 366 S. Pierce St., El Cajon 92020; phone 557-6383

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World