School Board and Community College District Candidates

The following is a list of school board candidates in races in which filing deadlines were extended after incumbents decided not to seek reelection. Districts without challenges to incumbents will have no elections, and the incumbents will begin new terms. Those districts are the East Whittier City and Los Nietos districts. In East Whittier, the returning board members are Candy Harris and Mary Ann Wojtysiak; in Los Nietos, they are Sylvia Orona and Adeline Rocha.


Area/Name City of Residence Profession Area 2: (one seat) Margo Hoffer Downey Incumbent Area 3: (one seat) Mary Tesoriero Downey Incumbent Area 4: (one seat) Donald LaPlante Downey Incumbent Area 5: (one seat) Betty Ferraro Downey Incumbent Patrick McDermott Downey Downey schools utility worker Area 6: (one seat) D. Mark Morris Downey Incumbent

EL RANCHO UNIFIED (four seats)

Name City of Residence Profession Mary Eva Gomez Pico Rivera Incumbent Raul Salcido Pico Rivera Incumbent Cecilia Chavez Pico Rivera Classroom aide Jim Delgado Pico Rivera Computer graphics specialist John J. Garcia Pico Rivera Teacher Vivian Kimbrough Pico Rivera Real estate agent Frank Yuchno Pico Rivera Retired manufacturing supervisor

LITTLE LAKE CITY (three seats)

Name City of Residence Profession Alva Folsom Downey Incumbent Sara Mendez Norwalk Incumbent Louie Gonzalez Norwalk Elementary school teacher Betty Putnam Santa Fe Springs Retired teacher


Name City of Residence Profession Frank Serrano Montebello Incumbent Barbara Chavira Monterey Park Parent/consumer inspector Joseph Maytorena Montebello Congressional office director Guadalupe Stern Bell Gardens School bus driver Ricardo Valdez Monterey Park High school principal

WHITTIER CITY (two seats)

Name City of Residence Profession James Albanese Whittier College vice president Diane Britton Whittier Parent/shorthand reporter Brigitta Weger Whittier Teacher Reed Wilson Whittier Accountant

WHITTIER UNION (two seats)

Name City of Residence Profession Richard Bries Whittier Gardener Joe F. Corey Whittier Property manager David E. Gonzales Whittier Paralegal/parapsychologist Richard J. Moore Santa Fe Springs Purchasing director for utility company Ralph Pacheco Whittier President of management consulting firm Bruce Sago Whittier Business owner Cathy Warner Whittier Board member, East Whittier city district William Wise Whittier Engineer


Name City of Residence Profession Ruth Banda Bellflower Incumbent John Moore Cerritos Incumbent Katie Nordbak La Mirada Incumbent Ted Edmiston Lakewood Chiropractor Theresa Lambros Downey Teacher/Small-business owner Mary Loya Downey Retired college instructor Ada Steenhoek Cerritos Businesswoman/educator Marty Supple Norwalk Small-business owner


Trustee Area 4: (one seat)

Name City of Residence Profession Herbert Collins Paramount Police officer Francisco Gonzalez Paramount Sales supervisor Ignacio Pena Paramount Educational resource specialist Carmen Peterkin Paramount Customer service representative William Schlitz Paramount Congressional aide


Trustee Area 4: (one seat)

Name City of Residence Profession Alex Morales Norwalk Educator Edward Ortell Whittier Air Force colonel

* In Downey, candidates must stand for election in their trustee area even if they are unopposed. All district voters may vote for one candidate in each trustee area.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World