Studio Teachers: It's the Law

Teachers are on studio lots because of California's child labor laws, which regulate the working conditions and education of actors under 16.

The laws mandate that school-age actors receive 15 hours of schooling a week, or three hours a day.

The state also empowers teachers to monitor their wards' work hours, depending on a child's age. For example:

* Babies ages 15 days to 6 months are limited to two hours at their place of employment, with work time not exceeding 20 minutes.

* Minors ages 9 to 16 can work 9 1/2 hours at the job location. Five of those hours can be in front of the camera; three must be set aside for class.

Although studio teachers are mandated by the state, their salaries are paid by producers.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World