The California Highway Patrol said Thursday that riding motorcycles without a helmet is a violation subject to a heavy fine and citation rather than a "fix-it" ticket.
The CHP said a recent advisory memo from the California Judicial Council left the impression that helmet law violations were simple fix-it tickets remedied with proof of correction and a $10 fine. But CHP Commissioner Maury Hannigan said violations will continue to be treated seriously, with fines of up to $76 for the first violation.
"Helmet law violations are not the same as driving with a burnt-out license plate light," Hannigan said. "They represent a dangerous disregard for safety, and the Highway Patrol and other California law enforcement agencies will treat them accordingly."