MALIBU : City Fills New Planning Board

West Malibu will have no shortage of clout on the city's new planning commission, appointed earlier this month by the City Council.

All five members of the commission, Malibu's first planning board since it incorporated in March, 1991, are west Malibu residents. The mayor and four council members each appointed one commissioner, choosing from 15 applicants.

Three commissioners will serve one-year terms, the amount of time remaining on the terms of those who selected them--Mayor Jeffrey W. Kramer and council members Carolyn Van Horn and Joan House. Those planning commissioners are:

Thomas J.D. Hasse, 34, a 10-year resident who ran unsuccessfully for a seat on the City Council in 1993 and who is working on a master's degree in communication; Leslie W. Moss, 62, a 23-year resident who worked on the cityhood campaign, and Harry Barovsky, 57, a 31-year resident who has been a member of the Malibu Road Homeowners Assn.

Two appointees will serve two-year terms. Charleen Kabrin, 56, is a 20-year-resident and a realtor and who served on the general plan task force. Barbara A. Cameron, 46, has worked at the Malibu Community Center for 10 years and developed a parks and recreation program for the city.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World